Various Artists

Music On Vinyl * MOVLP153 * 2010

The Northern Soul Story (Vol 1)

The Northern Soul Story (Vol 1)

  • Magic Potion - Lou Johnson
  • Hide And Go Seek Part 1 - Bunker Hill
  • That's What I Want To Know - James Carr
  • Ride Your Pony - Lee Dorsey
  • No Sad Songs - Oscar Toney Jr.
  • My Elusive Dreams - Moses and Joshua Dillard
  • Shake A Tail Feather - James & Bobby Purify
  • A Little Bit Of Something (Beats A Whole Lot Of Nothing) - Little Richard
  • It's The Beat - Major Lance
  • A Quitter Never Wins - Larry Williams & Johnny "Guitar" Watson
  • Don't Leave Me - Al Green
  • I Can't Get A Hold Of Myself - Clifford Curry
  • The Cheater - Bob Kuban & The In-Men
  • Look What You've Done To My Heart - Shirley and the Shirelles
  • Let Love Come Between Us - James & Bobby Purify
  • Help Me (Get Myself Back Together Again) (Single Version) - The Spellbinders
  • I Need Your Love So Desperately - Peaches And Herb
  • Breakin' Down The Walls Of Heartache - Johnny Johnson
  • Everybody's Goin' To The Love-In - Bob Brady & The Con Chords
  • There's Nothing Else To Say - The Incredibles
  • Soul Time (Single Version) - Shirley Ellis
  • Ain't No Soul (In These Old Shoes) - Major Lance
  • Right Track (Single Version) - Billy Butler
  • 'Cause You're Mine (Single Version) - The Vibrations
  • You're Gonna Make Me Love You - Sandi Sheldon


Volume One features rare dance floor fillers from Lou Johnson, James Carr, Lee Dorsey, James & Bobby Purify, Al Green and many, many more.

The first 500 copies are pressed on purple vinyl. All copies come on double vinyl on 180 grams audiophile vinyl in a beautiful gatefold sleeve.


  • Frankie Wilmott - Why Wont You ComeFrankie WilmottWhy Wont You Come

    Soulful digital music from Jammys unreleased tapes. Although this one sounds like its got a 'real' drum kit on it and evokes both Dennis Brown and the Radics.

    More info
  • Pad Anthony - Ruff a themPad AnthonyRuff a them
    More info
  • Dave Barker  - Your Own ThingDave Barker Your Own Thing
    More info
  • Israel Vibration  - Same SongIsrael Vibration Same Song

    Classic Lp that now been made available again on vinyl. One of the strongest vocal harmony albums from the period. Total classic. 180 gram vinyl. Remastered.

    More info
  • Tarrus Riley  - We Want BetterTarrus Riley We Want Better

    Tarus Riley on a crucial rhythm. Comes with a killer dub on the flipside. A monster of a tune worth buying for the dub alone. Tarus Rileys vocal side is potent stuff as well.

    More info
  • Exco Levi - YardmanExco LeviYardman

    Exco Levi with reflections on 'Yardman' on the side. Mr Williams on the flipside with 'Jah Armour' on the flipside

    More info

More New Arrivals